Doghouse

I had another enjoyable lunch with my dad today. I think he was, again, taken aback by the “grown-up” things I added to my burger: tomatoes+lettuce+onion rings+mustard. Prior to our last 3 lunch dates he knew me as solely a cheese+ketchup kinda girl. The silliness of the last two sentences makes me giggle.

After several attempts to hang out with the smallest and oldest of my pack, Oscar (my awesome miniature dachshund who used to have an Elvis lip) were thwarted, I realized that I should give him some more time. I tried bribing him with the rest of my burger from lunch (minus the “grown-up” additions). He’s just not ready to accept my apology (for leaving him here when I moved across the country for the better part of a year). While his cold shoulder is disheartening, I acknowledge that I am the one in the proverbial doghouse and this is my punishment.

I really should have waited until he loved me again to give him a bath. Sorry little man.

Just read my dear friend’s newest blog post in which she does a superb job explaining how our brains work (hers and mine, anyway). She also does a damn fine job summarizing why I cannot work inside of a theme, and why, consequently, this blog will never have one. Two peas in a pod, we are.

A side note: I also use “parentheses” when I speak . . . a lot. In fact, a good portion of the middle of my “stories” are parenthetical. Parenthetical = the “important” parts in my head that no one really cares about.

I am having a damn good time blogging. And rediscovering my voice. Thank you, friend.

~ by fragmentarie on 16 April 2009.

3 Responses to “Doghouse”

  1. Isn’t odd but lovely to enjoy grownup foods? To opt for a side salad instead of fries. It’s amost frightening. I catch myself wondering, “who am i”? ha. Thank you for the shout out. 🙂

    • Grown up food is still gross. I guess I’m still a kid! Hey look I read your blog. And it is WAY ok to not have a theme. Themes are really hard to stick to when you have an Amy brain

  2. Blog looks great. Your right we do need to talk. And belive it or not, you are the theme of the blog. That’s kinda what things like this are for.

Leave a Reply

 
